How Do We Make Good Decisions?

We are now one-and-a-half weeks into a New year. Today is the tenth of January. We have three-hundred-and-fifty-five days left.
Over the course of this year, we will make decisions. Some may be major decisions while others perhaps aren’t as significant. But, they are decisions, none-the-less.
So, how do we make decisions? What guidelines do we use to help with decisions of life? Two of my favorite verses in the Bible are Proverbs 3:5-6. The text reads, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.” I’ve leaned on that verse many times when trying to make decisions.
Think about it…
“Trust in the Lord…”
Decisions would be so much easier if we can see into the future… but we can’t. We gather all the information we can but, many times, that information doesn’t cover everything. It only goes so far. So we have to make decisions based on the information we have and trust the Lord in making decisions that we don’t have information on.
“With all your heart..”
This mean, simply, trust the Lord totally… not partially… not mostly… totally. It may be that you sense the Lord leading you to do something but you aren’t quite sure. You wish you had more information, but you don’t. You must trust the Lord in the area that you don’t have all the information.
“Lean not on your own understanding.” This part of the verse often speaks to me. In other words, the text is telling us, “Don’t try to figure things out.” I don’t know about you, but I’m often guilty of that. I try to figure things out and… I can’t. I’m human… my knowledge is definitely limited but, God knows all.
So, this year, you will make some decisions. I encourage you, when doing so, to trust the Lord… don’t try to figure it out on your own… trust the Lord and He will direct our paths.
Robert Frost wrote;
“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both.
And be one traveler long I stood, and looked down on one as far as I could to where it bent in the under-growth.
I took the other as just as far and having perhaps the better claim.
Though as for that the passing there had worn them both about the same.
I shall be telling this with a sign, ages and ages hence.
Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”
Trust the Lord in making decisions.

Leave a comment